top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Scullery Maiden

Recipe- Matapa

This Mozambican staple has become a personal favourite

As a food and travel writer, I have the privilege of visiting some of the most exciting places on the content and eating foods I'd only ever dreamed of. My job requires me to have a never-ending curiosity because I'm often required to reach outside of my comfort zone.


When I heard about Matapa, I wasn't convinced. The idea of a stew made of cassava leaves and peanuts concerned me because

a) I was always told that cassava leaves are poisonous and,

b) unless it's a spread smeared, with strawberry jam, across two pieces of bread, I have no interest in peanuts.

But despite my better judgement, I gave this unique dish a try. I need to ignore myself more often because I was blown away.


At a lovely dinner party hosted by friends I'd just made in Maputo when I was visiting in July, I became addicted. I've since had Matapa three times - only when I was in Mozambique.


On a cloudy Spring day, back at home in South Africa, I attempted the dish for my family. I hope this recipe works as well for you as it did for me:


Ingredients

½Kg young cassava leaves

1 garlic clove

150g onion, finely chopped

2 Tbsp vegetable oil

150g peanuts

250ml of coconut milk

300g seafood, chopped (optional)

4 stock cubes (preferably vegetable

salt to taste


Directions

1. Grind cassava leaves with garlic cloves until fine.

2. Place pounded cassava leaves in a pot with enough to cover the greens slightly, then boil until soft.

2. In a separate saucepan, sweat onions in oil over medium-low heat.

3. Place peanuts in food processor, or blender, to turn into fine dust.

4. Add chopped seafood, peanuts, coconut milk, salt and stock cubes to softened, but not browned, onions. Keep stirring.

6. Introduce boiled cassava and cook for 10 - 15 minutes, or until stew is well combined.

7. If the Matapa is too watery, you can simmer it with the lid off; too thick and you can always add more coconut milk and simmer with the lid on.

**Best served with either rice or xima**

---

I've picked up a number of recipes during my travels, some of my favourites being Mmê Iris' Traditional Seswaa and a Restaurante Zamb's Champagne Sangria.

But if you're in Maputo and you don't feel like making your own meals, head to one of the great eateries I've listed in the Live Like a Local piece.


467 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page