top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Scullery Maiden

RECIPE- Mulled Wine

Updated: Jun 14, 2019

An African spin on this seasonal classic

The winter chill has set in. Every morning, I struggle through the five stages of grief before accepting that I need to peel myself from my bed in order to get work done.


It is never dignified.


Working from home does offer me certain comforts however. After layering up in varietals of wool, cotton, cashmere, corduroy and fleece, I set up on the couch and only manoeuvre my Michelin Man resembling frame to the kitchen to top up my cup of coco.


In the last week, all the blankets that used to warm me on chilly nights have begun to disappoint me - though truth be told, the winter I'd become accustomed to in Cintsa doesn't match the Cape Doctor I've had to reintroduce myself to since my move back to Cape Town. A warming night cap is the internal hug I need to chaperone me to sleep.


Mulled wine is such a versatile drink because you can make a batch for a dinner party you might throw for a few friends during winter. If you've been to generous with a personal portion, you can let it cool before popping in the fridge and just rewarming on nights that are particularly icy. I've developed a recipe that takes the classic flavors and adds an African flare to it. The local flora of the Cape has provided me with deliciously aromatic components I'm excited to share with you.


Ingredients

2 bottle red wine (though a Merlot Shiraz blend works best)

1 cup water

1 cup sugar

2 cinnamon sticks

1 heaped spoon cloves

4 whole star anise

3 rooibos teabags

2 large orange, sliced


Instructions

1. Bring water to boil with rooibos teabags and sugar in large, thick-bottomed pot

2. Remove teabags and reduce heat so tea simmers

3. Add cinnamon, cloves and star anise

4. Stir every two minutes to let flavours infuse while allowing the liquid to thicken

5. Reduce heat further so the stove top is low

6. Add wine and orange slices to pot

7. Allow wine to warm thoroughly without burning as that will bitter the wine

8. Transfer to heated serving apparatus and enjoy.

***Best served warm***

---

I've returned to the culinary capital of the continent during it's coldest time of the year. So it'll be indoors this season, but it means I get to spend all my time in the kitchen.

Not only have I perfected my Persimmon Pie Recipe to share with you, but Eating Seasonally is something I'll really get into.



126 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page