top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Scullery Maiden

Review- Amuse Bouche Food and Wine

Updated: Jun 10, 2019

Be enchanted by the chic yet contemporary dining parlor at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel and Spa


In a city saturated by 'supposed' sophisticated fine dining, this treasure trove dares to live up to its appetite-whetting name. A pantry stocked with the freshest ingredients, a kitchen staffed with the most learned chefs, and a venery of attentive wait staff meticulously choreographed to work the dining room- Amuse Bouche Food and Wine is a candescent experience you'll want to get lost in.

While Alice tumbled down the rabbit hole to her wonderland, my dining partner and I choose the scenic route. Well manicured shrubs line the entrance of the boutique hotel. The ivory coloured exterior exudes a certain exterior that is creatively contrasted when you enter the building.

Fairlawns Hotel and Spa is effortlessly eclectic. Royal blue walls, plush pink candles, gold picture frames of the grandest design all come together in bohemian harmony. Had the mad-hatter refined his fantastical ideas, this is how he'd have his tea parties.

We turn the corner to Amuse Bouche and colourful interior is replaced with refinement. Ivory seats and starch white table cloths are accented with black and white cushions. There is a panoramic view of a rolling garden for as far as we could go. Italian Cypress Evergreen trees reach up to the sky, and behind them a crystal blue pool shies its shine away. Beautiful doesn't even begin to describe what we are seeing. I am breath taken before I see the menu.


Both my date and I challenge the kitchen to a scallops and zucchini starter. So far from the ocean, we want Amuse Bouche to live up to the glowing recommendations we've heard. When they arrive, the scallops are cooked perfectly; the chef was a little too heavy handed with the salt in my opinion but they stayed on the heat for the right amount of time. Soft and moist. The crumbed skin tears open to reveal silky smooth flesh. The crunchy zucchini spaghetti and zesty tomato marmalade give the dish the distinctive sharpness it needs. There is a flurry of textures and temperatures our palates enjoy.

I wash my starters down with a flute of Methode Cap Classique (MCC) while my date nurses a generous glass of rose. Our plates are cleared, and before we tackle the next course, we take a moment to walk through the grounds.

By the time we return to the table, our pasta dishes have arrived. My lunch date has kept to seafood - Prawn Linguine in a tarragon and lobster cream. I ready myself to enjoy the Mushroom Ravioli.


My ravioli is nutty with the unmistakable earthy taste mushrooms are known and loved for. The pasta itself is just over al dente, which is just how I like it. Parmesan has been unselfishly shaved onto my pasta and I am grateful. My glass of Riesling has a flavour profile as complex as my dish.

I can't resist grabbing a forkful of my partners linguine. She's feasting so lovingly and I need to understand why. I cut a prawn (which is as thick as my thumb) in half, gather some pasta around the fish and funnel it into my mouth. It is indulgent without being too rich, flavourful and fishy in the best way. We annihilate our plates of food, soak up what's left of the sauce with a pinch of bread and toast to a grand afternoon.

---

Johannesburg has some of the best restaurants in the country, and I've been lucky enough to dine at some. Read my Signature Restaurant review and you'll have to try it for yourself. I've also created the Drinkers Guide to Happy Hour JHB.

124 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page