top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Scullery Maiden

Watermelon, Kiwi and Kombucha Lollies

These tasty treats will make you tummy happy too

I am a sugar fiend. Growing up, my parents tried to dissuade me from ordering dessert as my starter or main meal when we'd go for dinner. If candy wrappers weren't hidden under pillows or stashed in my school bag, they were buried under a pile of rubbish in the trash can because I had to get my fix.


Cut to an overweight 10 year old who was forced to shop in the adult section of clothing stores because gluttony had made a home for itself on my hips.


Now, thankfully, I have my craving under control. Not only does fruit give me my portion of sugar, but vital nutrients my body needs to function manage to slip through too.


My love of watermelon is no secret. Whenever it is in season, I hoard a pile of them to add to my gin slushie, fruit salads and for these amazing lollies. 80% water, this sweet fruit will hydrate you while getting to work detoxing your liver and kidney. Kombucha is loaded with probiotics that promote gut health. The kiwi, I added because I thought it would be cool to make lollies that look like my favourite fruit AND they are a great source of fibre.


What you'll need to make these refreshing snacks is ice cream moulds (or reusable cups if you have those instead) and lollie sticks - which can be found at your closest stationary store or arts & crafts shop.


Ingredients

1 1/4 cup cubed watermelon

3 chopped kiwi

1 bottle kombucha (I prefer cucumber and mint but ginger flavour works well too)

1 cup double thick yoghurt


Directions

1. Blend watermelon and 300ml of kombucha until you have a juice.

2. Strain the juice to remove any pulp and pour mixture into five moulds

3. Place in freezer for 2 hours.

4. Remove moulds from freezer and add yoghurt.

5. Drive lollie sticks into thick mixture. Place back in freezer for 3 hours

6. Blend kiwi with remaining kombucha.

7. Pour into moulds as final layer and freeze for at least 2 hours.

8. To remove lollies, run boiling water over moulds for 10 seconds too loosen lollies


***Best served straight from freezer***

91 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page