top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Scullery Maiden

Recipe - Bacon Wrapped Brussels Sprouts

The perfect finger-food for your festive dinner parties; a Christmas classic

Though I spend a lot of time in the kitchen all year round, Christmas time always gives me a chance to cook up some personal favourites for my loved ones. My brothers have appetites as big as their hearts, and in order to keep up with them (while not punishing my waistline) I look for healthy recipes.


I happened upon this fool-proof recipe combing through the net for low-fat, high-protein winter snacks. It's a Canadian recipe that uses maple syrup to sweeten up the brussels sprouts, but I used Mrs Ball's Chutney to give it a local twist. Now I can't seem to get enough.


If you want to impress friends and family with a starter or side dish that won't pile on the pounds this festive season, this is perfect for you.


Ingredients

(Serves 5)

25 brussels sprouts

25 streaks of bacon

Mrs Balls Chutney


Directions

1. Preheat over to 180 ° C

2. Blanch brussels sprouts in salted water

3. Using a basting brush, apply a fair layer of chutney to inner layer of bacon

4. Wrap brussels sprout in rasher or bacon and poke with a toothpick to secure

5. Change oven setting to grill

6. Place wrapped brussels sprouts on baking tray and leave in over for 30 minutes


**Best served warm with Mrs Ball's Chutney as dipping sauce**

---

I hear it's better to give than to receive this tie of year, so I've got a bunch of festive recipes coming to you this month. If you haven't made my watermelon gin slushie cocktail, you're missing out.

We're making roasted duck on Christmas Day, using a tried and trusted recipe.



54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page