top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Scullery Maiden

RECIPE - Chilli Lemonade

Updated: Sep 23, 2019

A refreshing seasonal classic with a spicy kick

When it seemed like winter would never end, the Mother City was hit with a sweltering heat wave. The first weekend of Spring saw Capetonians flock to the beach, armed with coolers bags bursting with ice lollies, cool drinks and a whole manner of pre-made cocktails. Being an enthusiastic water baby myself, I didn't miss the opportunity to splish splash in the icy Atlantic, then splay myself along the sandy shore.


The new season has also given me the opportunity to revive my bevy of refreshing beverages. While I'm partial to a few glasses of champagne sangria over the weekend, the recipe of which I managed to negotiate from Restaurante ZAMBI, my chilli lemonade is family friendly - and the spicy kick will clear out your airwaves, getting rid of any remnants of winter.


Ingredients

6 cups water

6 lemons

1 cup sugar

4 birds eye chilli


Directions

1. Pour water into a stock pot

2. Halve the lemons and place them in water

3. Pierce the flesh of your chillies and throw into water with lemons

4. Finally, add sugar and bring mixture to boil on high heat

5. Once boiling begins, lower heat and let simmer for 45 minutes so lemon, lemon rind, and chilli can fully infuse

6. Take off heat and let cook for 15 - 20 minutes

7. Run through strainer (or strain through clean cloth)


**Best served with a few blocks of ice and mint leaves or rosemary sprig garnish**

Keeps in the fridge for up to 5 days.

---

The warmer seasons tend to be my favourite and it's not just because of the weather. Getting to play around in the kitchen always has delicious results, like with my dairy-free blueberry cheesecake gelato, watermelon and kiwi kombucha lollies and watermelon gin slushies.


Try these, and if you like them, you'll want to try the whisky and lemonade cocktail I've shared.

119 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page