top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Scullery Maiden

RECIPE - Traditional Broccoli Rapini

Updated: Feb 6, 2022

Whether steamed, sautéed or added to a stew, this bone strengthening and vision improving leafy green needs to form part of your weekly grocery list.

I've found travelling to be an incredibly rewarding experience for countless reason.


Firstly, It's always such fun discovering new cities and immersing myself in different cultures. As an eager wanderer, meeting locals always presents the promise of memorable moments.

The times I visited France, China, Italy and Greece were also utterly unforgettable because I savoured the challenge of having to wrap my tongue around the vibrant languages.


But the list goes on.


With all the perks of travelling considered, I'd have to say my highlight is and will always be the FOOD GLORIOUS FOOD!!


When possible, my first stop is the local McDonald's because I get a chance to compare a foreign menu to the one I'm used to back homw. Swapping out chicken foldovers and breakfast boerie stacks for crisscut fries and beef bowls is, often, a welcomed palate cleanser for someone who eats as adventurously as I do.


My trip to Botswana was truly a food tour worthy of its title. For five days, I ate my weight in seswaa and other traditional favourites. It's remarkable that the pounded beef, similar to the matapa I'd developed a dependancy on while in Mozambique, tasted like home but still managed to treat me to a completely unique culinary experience.


Gaborone was such an incredibly delicious experience that I squealed with glee when I passed a street vendor selling broccoli rapini, earlier this week. Here was an opportunity to hark back to my time in Gabs! So, R10 later, I had a head of rapini under my arm and dozens of dinner ideas. At the special request of a dear friend, who can't seem to get her bitter leaves to co-operate when she's in the kitchen, I've decided to share two traditional rape recipes.


Chicken and Rapini Cous Cous (serves 2)

Ingredients

For Rapini Couscous:

1 medium red onion

1 tbsp olive oil

1 cup of couscous

1 tbsp garlic paste

1 tsp mixed herbs

1 tsp 11 in 1 spice

1 tsp mother-in-law masala

6 stalks of rape/rapini

salt to taste


For Chicken:

2 large chicken breast

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp 11 in 1 spice

1 tbsp mother-in-law masala


Directions

1. Preheat oven to 180 °C

2. Marinate chicken breast in oil and spices while over preheats for 5 minutes

3. Wash rape thoroughly and chop

4. Roast chicken breast on 150 °C

5. Bring saucepan to medium heat and add olive oil

6. Add garlic, mixed herbs and mother-in-law masala

7. Sweat onions until soft

8. Add 11 in 1 spice, salt and rapini

9. Let rapini cook down until soft

10. Add couscous and equal parts water

11. Cover saucepan, reduce heat and let couscous cook for ±10 minutes

12. Remove chicken breast from oven

*** Best served hot ***



Stuffed Peppers

Ingredients

2 large pepper (bell/jalapeño)

1 medium red onion

12 button mushrooms

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp garlic paste

1 tsp mixed herbs

1 tsp mother-in-law masala

6 stalks of rape/rapini

salt to taste

feta cheese

cheddar cheese


Directions

1. Preheat oven to 180 °C

2. Wash rape thoroughly and chop

3. Bring saucepan to medium heat and add olive oil

4. Add garlic, salt and onions. Cook through until soft

5. Wash rape thoroughly and chop

6. Add mushrooms, mixed herbs and mother-in-law masala

7. Add rape and cook down until soft

8. Cut peppers in half and scoop out innards

9. Place peppers in oven to soften

10. Grate a generous amount of cheddar cheese

11. Combine cheese with rapini stuffing

12. Remove peppers from oven and fill with cheesy filling

13. Sprinkle feta cheese on top of stuffed peppers

14. Turn oven off

15. Place peppers in oven to roast for 20 minutes

*** Best served hot ***


---

I've picked up a number of recipes during my travels, some of my favourites being Restaurante Zambi's Champagne Sangria in Mozambique.


Some of my favourite memories in Botswana were spent in The Daily Grind. You'd be doing yourself a favour by making a stop past the inner city cafe when you're in Gaborone.




86 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page