top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Scullery Maiden

REVIEW- Soul Gourmet

Updated: Jun 10, 2019

In a secret garden, pitched into a cul de sac off Maputo's busy streets, you'll find this hidden gem.


The coastal city of Maputo is one brimming with food markets and street vendors. Local produce is not very hard to come by because Mozambique's capital is bordered by a harvest of farmers. Making the most of the organic food offering, Silvia Ferreira, Owner and Head Chef of Soul Gormet, is committed to serving the freshest seasonal ingredients at her exquisite bistro.


On my favourite day of the year, my date and I hop out of our tuk tuk and onto the bustling streets of Maputo. We walk down an unassuming alleyway to find Silva ready to greet us with a smile.


Under an archway and to the left, we follow Silvia as she takes us along a path she walks daily. New to us, every step transports us to what I can only describe as a whimsical wonderland. Azaleas grow all along the wooden gazebo in the garden. Each table outside is decorated with fresh flowers picked from the garden.


Towards the entrance of the indoor dining area, a shelf of crimson red roses are available for lovers to buy for their valentines, and a pink city bicycle is propped up against it. We walk in and a spread of fresh produce, organic products and wholesome nibbles are on offer, while others are being prepared behind the counter- this eatery clearly has nothing to hide.


"About five years ago, I realised my love for cooking and serving people," Silvia shares with us as we sit for her Valentine's Day Breakfast. "I was pregnant at the time, so I was at home. I was driving myself crazy because I didn't have anything to do. I got into the kitchen and I've been cooking and making my own recipes ever since," the charismatic cook shares. The table is a banquet of freshly baked goods and homemade morsels. Silvia has come up with a romantic menu for couples to enjoy.

Where to begin? With a granola recipe of my own, I reach for the single serving pot of nutty granola and yoghurt placed right in front of me. What a flurry of taste, texture and temperature. The distinctive, sweet crunch granola is known and loved for is contrasted with the sharp taste of the smooth plain yoghurt. The granola was a little warm too, clearly toasted for a few minutes before serving. I could've eaten half a dozen of them and still not had my fill.

My date and I tuck into the chocolate and almond croissants next. The buttery pastry flakes delicately as my date cuts into the crescent-shaped confection. The croissant is light but the lashing of dark chocolate sauce served on top is decadent enough that sharing one is adequate. The gourmand sitting next to me thinks otherwise, asking for a second croissant which Silvia is happy to organise.

Because my Valentine's Day date is allergic to bananas, I get the banana and chia seed bread all to myself - yay me. "I came up with this recipe last week when I was experimenting in the kitchen," Silvia shares.

What a pair the two main ingredients make. Served with a thick vegan-friendly peanut butter, the flavour combination is bold. I wolf the dish down and quench my thirst with a potent mimosa.

Next are pancakes served with organic honey bought from the market that week.

I polish off my mimosa in a manner of clearing my palate for the poached egg and salmon on toast - a personal favourite.

"Is there anything else I can get you," our hands-on host asks. Having tended to a number of the other tables in the bohemian garden, it's a wonder how Silvia has energy left to give us any more attention than she has already. But her generous spirit and inviting energy makes it obvious that her happiness comes from seeing the smiling faces of satisfied customers.


Having had my share of five separate dishes, I cannot manage one more bite. Ready to walk off our feast, my valentines date and I head out on a romantic stroll along the rustic roads of Maputo.

---

Soul Gourmet makes the most of locally sourced ingredients and fresh produce, you can too. Check out my piece on the benefits of buying local.

Try the Champagne Sangria recipe I got from Zambi Restaurant.

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page